At the Heart of the Story

If you use a little imagination you’ll find this Anemone offers another illustration of story building, starting with the heart of the story, the central idea, and building around that with a tight outline of supporting basics, and finally writing the gorgeous details, layer upon layer. You don’t see beauty in the bud, only its potential. The glory of its creation is evident once it has reached full maturity.

Anemone

Just sharing one of my “something to thing about” moments. 🙂

7 thoughts on “At the Heart of the Story

  1. JodyHedlund says:

    I LOVE it! What a simple yet profound way of thinking about our stories! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Joseph says:

    Very good. Like this.

    Now, I am not a writer but I am a speaker…and do a ton of it. I like this because I always speak around a story.
    I use a story at the start and weave my message through the story all the way through relating my topics back to that story.

    So when I script my speeches, I find my theme first, story to support it second and then fill in details.

    I had never thought about what I do like this before but it is very much how I try and do things.

    Kudos…like it!

  3. Carol Benedict says:

    Carol, that’s a beautiful way of describing a process that takes lots of hard work. If the results are as lovely as this, it will be worth it.

  4. joylene says:

    Excellent example, Carol. And so simple. That’s what I mean. If you look closely enough, there’s always a simple solution to anything complicated.

  5. Thanks for your responses to this, everyone. I love the beauty in simple things. Unfortunately most analogies can only stretch so far but I’m always struck by how often I miss an obvious connection.

    In the world of words there are clear parallels between writing and public speaking. It’s neat to hear how this illustration relates to your speeches, Joseph.

I'd love to hear from you!

