Can It Be Forty Years Ago?

In an earlier post I mentioned why I am particularly fascinated with the current space mission and I’ve been following each day’s highlights on NASA Television.

 

Years slide by faster than most of us can keep track… often faster than we would like. When something jogs memory we look back at incidents that surely happened only last week! As I explored the NASA site I realized that today is the 40th anniversary of the Apollo 11 astronauts’ first walk on the moon. They have released a newly restored video from the live TV broadcast of that event.

 

July 20, 1969


 

Awesome is an overused word these days, but I remember being awestruck on that day and I still find the concept of space travel wondrous. When we are allowed glimpses into bits of our world that used to be unknown to us but that have been there since creation we realize anew that our God is indeed an awesome God!

“Who among the gods is like you, O LORD ? 
     Who is like you— 
       majestic in holiness, 
       awesome in glory, 
      working wonders?

     [Exodus 15:11]

6 thoughts on “Can It Be Forty Years Ago?

  1. Jody Hedlund says:

    So true! When we get a glimpse of the vastness of outer space we can’t help but be awed by the Creator!

    • I’ve been trying to post a powerpoint file of marvelous pictures taken of the earth from space by an astronaut. I haven’t managed to do it yet but I imagine many have already seen them anyway. They just emphasize the grandeur that only God can create.

  2. Shari says:

    I saw that footage earlier today — Son3 was watcing something about the Apollo missions on the Discovery channel. So amazing! It definitely does increase awe of the Creator — because of the vastness of space and the beauty, and also because of the capacities He gave man to have the drive and the knowledge to explore creation like this.

    • I’m sure it must take a special person to do that kind of exploration… one with the intelligence as well as the curiosity and the willingness to risk so much to find answers.

  3. marsha says:

    I was only 4 years old when we landed on the moon but I clearly remember the day. I was living in Alaska and watching Capt Kangaroo on TV. My favorite show was interrupted by the moon landing. I remember being upset and then fascinated. My love of space started that day.

    • Thanks for visiting, Marsha. We were away at the time of the landing, vacationing in a rustic seaside cottage without electricity, but I remember the family being clustered around our battery-powered radio listening to the announcer and the astronaut’s words. We saw the TV footage on news re-runs once we were back at home. It amazed me to realize that not just the voices but the actual video could be transmitted to us from space. How far technology has come!

I'd love to hear from you!

