After one year what’s next? Anything?

Today is a significant day, although not to anyone except me. It was one year ago today that this blog was created, but that in itself isn’t particularly noteworthy.

 

Yesterday a friend asked me why anyone would want to put information about oneself out into the anonymous public eye, and why anyone else would want to read trivia written by an unknown. She’s never read a blog and has no desire to. I found it difficult to justify to her why I do. Each reason I offered was met with a disparaging response. 

 

So now I look back over this year of blogging with uncertainty and wonder if it has been wasted time and effort.

 

Many new cyber-friends and fellow writers have come my way by means of this blog—people I would never have known except for the internet. Via its vast network I’ve discovered authors, agents and editors all offering me glimpses of their personal and professional lives and sharing their expertise. I am richer and wiser for those encounters.

 

But I don’t require a blog of my own to search out such people, so does it really have any value? Honesty makes me acknowledge that it probably isn’t meaningful to many others, but when I reflect on who I was one year ago and how I felt about promoting myself then, I know I owe a lot to this small page on the World Wide Web. CarolBecause of it I have tiptoed into the open, pulling aside the curtain that separated the artificial layers of my persona from the authentic me. For an introverted writer that’s a gigantic achievement. It’s reason enough to keep me blogging into a second year. I may not have a published novel to promote here yet, but am I wasting my time and effort? I don’t think so! I’m here to stay.

8 thoughts on “After one year what’s next? Anything?

  1. joylene says:

    I’m one of those lucky ones for having met you, Carol. I was immediately drawn to your voice. Maybe we’re not supposed to know the impact our words have. Perhaps somewhere out in space another species is reading our blogs. Maybe they’re discovering that although earth people seem barbaric and cruel, there are some who are anything but.

  2. Carol Garvin says:

    What a nice thing to say… thank you! I hope we get to meet in person sometime. Then we’d find out if what we “see” of each other online is anywhere close to accurate. 😉

    I don’t know about other species, but I agree that we can’t know who may be reading our blogs or what benefit is being gleaned from them. We just write and “put it out there”, hoping the effort is worth it.

  3. Dave Ebright says:

    I often question the purpose of blogging – but I have met some really nice folks – like you & Joylene to name just a couple. I was advised to start a blog so I could promote my book, but blogging for promotion only works if you also shamelessly plug your own work on someone else’s blog. I’m not into that & constantly writing about the same thing would be a real bore. I am thinking about changing to a theme, but that will have to wait for now. Author Becky Ramsey has a great theme – ‘Wonders Never Cease’ (& an awesome book – French By Heart – a shameless plug for her from me – sorry).

    In any case – I’m not worried that anyone will glean anything useful from my blog, but I’ll keep it going for awhile longer.

    I’m glad we’ve crossed paths.

  4. Carol Garvin says:

    Being an introvert means I find self-promotion is one of the less popular aspects of writing. But even non-aggressive blogging helps gets the word out. Just finding and staying in touch with fellow writers online offers the potential for some shared marketing. (For instance, your comment sent me off to check Becky’s site.) A theme could provide incentive for fresh material. So far I seem to have just wandered between a half dozen areas of my interests. I imagine some appeal to certain readers, others to different ones, but I periodically end up coming back to writing-related opinions and judging from the blog stats those are the most popular. I enjoy my connection with the people, including you, so I hope you’ll keep blogging. 🙂

  5. Tricia says:

    I can’t even remember where I got some of my blog friends or how I came upon their site, but it’s what keeps us coming back that’s the big connection.

  6. That’s true, Tricia, and for me, that’s a combination of things. In the beginning it’s the person’s writing voice and my interest in their subject(s). Added to that is the frequency of their postings. If I visit several times and there’s nothing new I can drift away unless I’ve already developed a relationship with the blogger. That reminds *me* to keep writing regularly, too. (At least in theory that’s my intent. In reality it doesn’t always work out.)

  7. vade55 says:

    Carol, I don’t think you’re wasting your time. I enjoy reading your blog, and appreciate your visits to mine.

    Sometimes social interaction with others who like similar things can boost my spirits no matter how glum life might feel. I’m not a part of the social networking sites like Facebook or Twitter, and am not interested in them at this point in my life. Visiting blogs is fun for me, and often educational, too. For example, I got a math lesson from you today with your comparison of degrees C and F. 😉

    Carol

  8. Carol Garvin says:

    Carol — I don’t know about that “educational” aspect but thanks for your comment. 🙂 And I agree that the interaction can be a good boost for lagging spirits.

I'd love to hear from you!

