Where Does the Mind Go?

My brain does its “musings and mental meanderings” at the most unexpected times. Yesterday we were driving north from Vancouver en route to visit family in the Okanagan. Mesmerized by a monotonous landscape of brown rolling hills splashed with old snow my eyes slid into “unseeing” mode. I wasn’t asleep and yet somehow I passed through the town of Kamloops without even noticing. Good thing I wasn’t the one behind the wheel! I have to admit, though, there have been times when I’ve driven from point A to point B without being aware of the journey. It’s a scary phenomenon.

 

This time I was remembering a murderer who escaped into the hills near Merritt and was later found by a hunter and his dogs. My novel-plotting mind went off on a “what if” tangent that took me somewhere other than where the highway was leading.

 

Daydreaming is too bland a term for the disconnection. I wonder if there is a medical term to describe what happens when the brain no longer registers what the eyes are seeing. Talk about losing one’s mind!

5 thoughts on “Where Does the Mind Go?

  1. joylene says:

    I know what you mean, Carol. Every so often, I’ll drive by Bednesti Resort and not remember doing that. It’s freaky. Thank goodness my car goes into auto-drive.

  2. Dave Ebright says:

    I use my looooong daily commute to think. Not always about plots or characters. Sometimes it’s about work, or stuff that I want to do around the house & sometimes it’s about goal setting. Every now & again I get so lost in thought that I miss my exit for home & end up adding 30 miles to my drive. Then, when I realize I’ve just screwed up, I get to thinkin’ about what a dope I can be…..

    Pretty scary huh? – 80 mph & can’t remember the drive…. or where I live?

  3. Careann says:

    Do you suppose we can consider ourselves successful multi-taskers? Or maybe just risk-takers?

  4. joylene says:

    On my way home from town today, I made a special attempt to pay attention. I’m happy to say I remember driving past Bednesti.

    However, my purpose in town was to receive my second shot for Hep A & B. Got to the doctor’s, the girl showed me to the room and when the doctor showed up… turned out I’d brought an empty box with me. I’d left the two syringes in their separate boxes inside the fridge at home. When I opened the bag and pulled out a box, I didn’t look to see if it had anything in it. I’ll pulled out the box that had held my first syringe, the one I had last Tuesday.

  5. Carol Garvin says:

    “Of all the things I’ve lost, I miss my mind the most.” My son used to have a poster sporting that saying and I am reminded of it all too often. lol That would have been a frustration if there wasn’t anything else you needed to do in town.

I'd love to hear from you!

