In Pursuit of Coolness

 

Weather2

Nothing profound from me today. It has been, is, and will continue to be hot. Please don’t see this as a complaint. I wouldn’t dare complain for fear it suddenly changes to unending rain! Instead, I’m trying to think of a positive side to hot sunshine.

It does bring on the flowers. I’ll say that for it.

Summer Peony

~

Summer Sun

Great is the sun, and wide he goes
Through empty heaven with repose;
And in the blue and glowing days
More thick than rain he showers his rays.

Though closer still the blinds we pull
To keep the shady parlour cool,
Yet he will find a chink or two
To slip his golden fingers through.

The dusty attic spider-clad
He, through the keyhole, maketh glad;
And through the broken edge of tiles
Into the laddered hay-loft smiles.

Meantime his golden face around
He bares to all the garden ground,
And sheds a warm and glittering look
Among the ivy’s inmost nook.

Above the hills, along the blue,
Round the bright air with footing true,
To please the child, to paint the rose,
The gardener of the World, he goes.

 Robert Louis Stevenson
(from – A Child’s Garden of Verses – 1885)

~

I remember reading that to my Grade One students a good many years ago. There are lots of good things to say about the sun, but I don’t do well in the heat and right now I need something cooling to distract me.

Water 1

Ahhh… yes, that helps.

Water 2

Oh, this is much better! Now I’m of a mind to go in search of a beach and some ice cubes — the perfect pursuit on a hot summer day. :)

What’s your best way of cooling down when it’s too hot to think, let alone write?

~  ~  ~

There will be a shelter
to give shade from the heat by day,
and refuge and protection
from the storm and the rain.

(Isaiah 4:6)

~

 

2 thoughts on “In Pursuit of Coolness

  1. elderfox says:

    HOTHOTHOT…got fans going night and day! Living in a top 3 story apt. BAD idea, but JJ is looking at one on first floor back among trees with a big patio (cement) surrounded by trees. Of course I’m debating the idea because (of course) I love sunshine!!! and have you seen the moon of late? Not been on computer as it had to be fixed but I’M BACK and hoping to get blogging again. ( I keep saying that! Best if I just DO IT!)
    Great to hear Shari is getting published!!! She is another BF who has been pub’d. Now it’s your turn!!! :)
    mE

  2. I am suffering from the intense heat. But I did sleep through the night. First time in over a week! Yay!!!

Leave a Comment

