Thoughts on Seeing and Believing

No writing analogy today, just some backyard ponderings…

Geese
In the stillness of early spring mornings I hear them — the Canada geese, returning to our marsh, honking in harsh duet. They aren’t the only noisy occupants of the marsh right now. The tiny Pacific Tree Frogs also make their presence known. At barely one inch in size, I rarely see them, but they sure do fill the air with their nighttime — and sometimes daytime — concerts.

Pacific Treefrog
In chorus together, the geese and frogs create quite the cacophony…

Amidst all the noise, I’m thinking about the words, “seeing is believing”. I don’t really need to see the geese or frogs to believe in their existence. They make their presence obvious. But when it comes to matters of faith, it’s not always easy to believe in something or Someone we cannot see. We want proof!

After a few days of rain I awoke yesterday to see footprints in the wet grass — two sets, one large and one tiny — evidence that our visitors of last week had meandered through the backyard once more. I didn’t happen to see them this time, but I have no doubt they were there.

Bear Tracks
After Easter when Jesus returned to his disciples, Thomas was as doubtful as we would probably have been. A dead man returning to life? Impossible! But Thomas’ doubt soon turned into belief and the reality of Jesus’ existence was acknowledged.

“Then Jesus told him, ‘Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.’” [John 20:29] In fact, it is believing that leads to true seeing, and not the reverse. “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” [Hebrews 11:1]

Three weeks after Easter I’m still in an Easter frame of mind, and in awe of this wondrous gift of faith.

~  ~  ~

8 thoughts on “Thoughts on Seeing and Believing

  1. elderfox says:

    Love the pic of the geese…it appears as though the Mr. is showing off and bragging about the location while Mrs isn’t so sure she approves…& how in the world did you get the still shot of that tiny frog??? And then tie it all together with scripture…it’s beautiful.

    • Carol says:

      It was the set of tracks that finally tied my thoughts together with the scripture. There’s a lot of ‘nature’ around here that I’m sure I miss, even with eyes wide open. I should also have used 2 Corinthians 4:18: “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” ;)

      As for the frog… I wouldn’t have noticed him at all except I was pulling weeds next to where he sat on that daylily leaf; he was right under my nose so his movement caught my eye. He stuck around until I got my camera but after a few clicks, when I tried for an even closer shot, he finally leapt away.

  2. Always love your photos! And, of course, your words. I’ve been in one of those “needing proof” mindsets lately. It’s like I expect Him to walk in the room and give me a map or a bullet-point list! But when I finally got quiet enough to listen, he gave me an answer thru a picture that came to mind, and in the very words I was praying to Him. Amazing. He always breaks thru when I am quiet.

    • Carol says:

      Ah, yes… “the still small voice’! Sometimes we wish He’d shout with a little indisputable clarity, don’t we? But it’s amazing what we can hear when we allow ourselves to become receptive to His choice of communication.

  3. I often wonder what’s happening outside my windows while I sleep… My daughter has motion lights that go on and off sometimes. Deer? At any rate, that’d kind of freak me out.

    • Carol says:

      This morning there’s bear scat on the back lawn, so my visitors have been here yet again. ::sigh:: They’re nice in the wild, and I admit our place is semi-wild, but I wish they’d go somewhere else so I can finish my spring gardening.

  4. Haha, I played it while my 2 cats were sleeping next to me and they both shot up. I guess they were thinking best if I kept the goose outside. Love this, Carol. The bay on the other side of the loop is full. The loons are back. I love their sounds. And the eagles. Wish I could speak bird talk.

    • Carol says:

      Your cats sound a little like my dog… when I play a section of a manuscript using the speech option on the computer he apparently wonders who’s come to visit via my computer. I think it’s a spin-off from the times my daughter and granddaughters call to chat on Skype or iChat. He recognizes those voices and their faces on the monitor. :)

Leave a Comment

