Easter? So What?

Yesterday was Easter Sunday. Some have returned to work today, while others are still enjoying one more day of a long weekend. I wonder how you spent your ‘holiday’. I imagine that depended on your interpretation of  its significance.

Ask Google for a definition of holiday, and you’ll get the following:

hol·i·day  ˈhäliˌdā/
noun

  • a day of festivity or recreation when no work is done.

Wikipedia, on the other hand, also looks at the etymology and says:

  • “The word holiday comes from the Old English word hāligdæg (hālig “holy” + dæg “day”). The word originally referred only to special religious days. In modern use, it means any special day of rest or relaxation….”

The Merriam-Webster dictionary provides additional information, first citing it as a holy day before moving on to various popular definitions.

About now I expect you’re thinking, “So what? Get to the point!”

IMG_0234I was away for part of the weekend, travelling a little over 800 km round trip to visit with family and friends. One of the highlights was being able to rendezvous with a granddaughter and her husband, to meet my seven-month-old great-granddaughter for the very first time. We drove there on Friday morning and drove home Saturday afternoon so we could be in church for the Easter service. It was that important to us.

One of the messages at Easter is that Jesus died to pay the price for a debt he didn’t owe. He died an unimaginably torturous death, overcoming death to rise again. And he did it all for me (and you). After a Maundy Thursday service, daughter Shari Green wrote a poem that makes it very personal:

“Bread and wine offered,
Remembrance of open arms
And a life given.
This much, O Lord, you love me?
This much, He whispered, and more.”

Shari Green

The “so what?” of Easter — one’s definition of it as a vacation or a holy day — depends on a personal response. Without one  Easter has no purpose… and can you fathom someone willingly submitting to such a death for no reason at all? Oh, how He loves you and me! (Listen: Only God/Praise & Harmony: a cappella worship)

Do I dare ask how you spent your holiday? Better still, will you dare to tell me? (And isn’t that a precious smile to travel 800 km for?)

~  ~  ~

10 thoughts on “Easter? So What?

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Yes, it is a precious smile.

    This holiday found my washing machine needing retirement after about twenty or so years. It began leaking desperately from the bottom. So we shopped and purchased on Saturday and took the pickup and brought it home Sunday afternoon. It still is not installed due to the wet, buckled floor that will require repairing before it can be ensconced.

    Due to a lingering cough, I didn’t go to any services – not wanting to share whatever has me feeling a little puny. However, my heart was singing “Here Yet a While” from Bach’s “Passion According to Saint Matthew” followed by “I Know That My Redeemer Liveth” from Handel’s “Messiah.”

    • Carol says:

      Appliances pick the most inconvenient times to expire! I’m sure if you weren’t feeling 100% it was even harder to take. At least a little Bach and Handel helped.

  2. elderfox says:

    We watched BIBLE stories on TV and had a favorite dinner and J J went looking on the computer for rentals (we’d like to find a bigger place, hopefully with a yard for Snuff). And the great grandbaby’s smile is certainly one to travel for, no matter the distance :).
    (I can’t think of a time when Easter was a “so what day” to me.)

  3. Darlene says:

    That baby is so precious and worth the long drive. For me Easter means, among other things, renewal and new life.. What better way to celebrate than spending it with a new member of the family. Blessings to all of you.

  4. She’s so beautiful. I’d drive 800Km to see that face too. We didn’t do anything special. Talked to family on the telephone. Next best thing.

  5. territiffany says:

    We spent Sunday morning at church. I would not miss worship on Easter. As always, the sermon stirred me to remember to be grateful.

  6. Thanks for this lovely tribute to Jesus, Carol. He is my Lord, too. This Easter it hit me anew how huge a sacrifice he made to set aside his throne and trade it for my shame. I’m so thankful!
    And yes, that little smile is worth all the travelling you did. How precious!

  7. Carol says:

    Thanks for sharing your comments Joylene, Terri and Jeanette. I’m glad you all had meaningful Easter experiences.

Leave a Comment

