Gone Too Soon…

BlogBlank

David_Garvin

David Murray Charles Garvin
1963 – 2013

Thanks to those of you who were praying for our nephew David and his family. Sadly, despite the liver transplant, he could not survive the damage done by the hemochromatosis, and died peacefully in Toronto General Hospital’s ICU on Thursday afternoon, August 8th.

Hemochromatosis is an iron storage disease, a genetic condition which, in David’s case, was not diagnosed until significant damage to his liver had already occurred. His sister-in-law, Carole Garvin, gave him 70% of her liver during transplant surgery last Friday, but in the end the iron stored in his heart interfered with his ability to recover. Carole is recuperating well and was discharged from hospital on the 7th.

David’s family will gather this weekend to make plans for a Celebration of his life.

~

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil, for you are with me;
your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

[Psalm 23:4]

~

“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.
I give them eternal life, and they will never perish,
and no one will snatch them out of my hand.
My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all,
and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.” 

[John 10:27-29]

 ~  ~  ~

12 thoughts on “Gone Too Soon…

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Oh, Carol, I’m so sorry. Praying for the family, and for you, my friend.

  2. Sue Harrison says:

    Praying for you and your family, Carol, and so sad about David. Thank you for sharing your sorrow and also how our wonderful Lord is such a source of comfort in times of grieving. Praying for Carole’s recovery, too.

  3. Sharon O says:

    that is sad. I know the disease and it is not an easy one …

  4. I’m sorry to hear of this disappointment. We are so blessed to have eternity waiting for us because of Jesus. May Carole’s healing be swift and complete. Blessings to you, Carol…

  5. joylene says:

    I’m so sorry, Carol. My deepest sympathies to his family.

  6. I’m sorry to hear of your nephew’s passing, Carol. What a selfless act his sister-in-law performed. I’ve heard it’s a dangerous procedure.

    We won’t know for 60-90 days what exactly happened with my best friend. We are thankful she’s with the Lord and free from physical distress.

  7. Jenn Hubbard says:

    Wishing you comfort and strength.

  8. Siobhan Brodowski says:

    Dear Carol you were so brave and loved unconditionally and gave f yourself to your brother and he taken too soon, Hereditary Hemochromatosis is a lurking killer that , God willing will be eradicated one day. I am so sorry for your loss.
    To the family, he no longer suffers from this de humanizing disease, one that eats you from the inside out, he was taken too soon and not helped until too late. May he be carried into heaven on angel’s wings for he certainly deserves it. May your grief be eased by knowing that many of us are out there and making noise so that research is done and attention brought to this cause so that this does not always have to happen. Golden years hold new meanings for HH ours is a halo and wings not retirement with families.

    from a fellow HH sufferer God Bless

  9. Terri Brown says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, my son, Jason Plummer (it will be one year Oct 6) passed away from Hemochromatosis. We did not know about this iron condition and by the time it was diagnosed it was to late. His liver was damaged and his heart was working at 10%. I watched my son in 2 months get worse and I spent 2 1/2 weeks with him until his passing he was 35! I am a carrier of the mutant gene, Jason had both genes as well as his dad, my sister, cousin and daughter and granddaughter are all carriers…

    I feel so much for you

    Terri Brown

  10. Carol says:

    Thank you all for your kind words of condolence.

    Siobhan, I was not the donor… that was David’s sister-in-law, Carole [different spelling -- I'm his aunt], and she has recovered well.

    Terri, I’m sorry to hear about your son. So young! Only one other person in David’s immediate family has been found to have the gene, and no one in ours, which is a relief.

  11. I am so sorry to hear of your loss. I am part of the HH family. May God’s blessings be with your and your famlly.

  12. Carol says:

    Thanks, Deana.

    I’ve appreciated the renewed interest in this post about David, but have just discovered the hundreds of new visits are resulting from a misleading statement — (“So unnecessary, hemochromatosis is easy / cheap to treat. When will the medical profession wise up?”) — and link on the Facebook page of someone named James Minter. Please note that David’s death was not due to inadequate diagnosis or treatment by the medical profession!

Comments are closed.