Does your home décor match your writing style?

BlogBlank

“White space and margin and editing are all things I’ve learned to appreciate in many areas of my life. Especially our home. Lately I’ve felt like our home needs some breathing room….And I’ve been wondering what it would be like to clear out my house a little longer than my usual quieting of a space. I want to have a month without accessories in our house….I feel like it will give me a fresh perspective of the beautiful things I use in my home.”

Soon after reading that on The Nester’s blog, I saw Sandra Heska King’s response on Facebook: “*I* need some breathing room. Some white space. I’m in. This quest for simplicity–it never ends.”

Our Master Bedroom

Our Master Bedroom

The reference to white space, margins and editing are familiar to any writer or graphic artist. We know how important they are. But in our homes? I had to think about that for a bit before acknowledging that lack of bare space in both my home and my life causes me stress. I can’t write if my office is a total mess. My mind tightens up when surrounded by clutter and the words end up trapped inside. When undone housework piles up I get frazzled.

Our Family Room

Our Family Room

And yet I’ve always thought simplicity is more a state of mind than an environment. I’m not a minimalist when it comes to home décor. I like having meaningful objects and artwork around, just not being smothered by an abundance of them.

I believe personality determines the style or décor we’re comfortable living with in our homes, and it shows up in our writing, too. Some of us write sparse, streamlined prose with an emphasis on plot. Others dish out setting that captivates the reader with sumptuous, down-filled description. In between lies a graduated plane of styles.

Until I re-read some of my fiction I’d never realized how closely my writing style parallels my home decorating taste.

What about you? What’s your style?

 

~  ~  ~

8 thoughts on “Does your home décor match your writing style?

  1. My home does not fully reflect my style at this point. It’s an old house, requiring much work before a lot of decor can be considered.

    I’m somewhere in the middle ground. My desk is a wreck due to multiple projects and lack of time. I actually have a post scheduled on this subject, so I won’t elaborate here. Every now and then, I do a clean sweep.

    For my kitchen and bathroom, I prefer a sleeker, more modern vibe. The rest of the house, I enjoy a more traditional look.

    • Carol says:

      Susan, in many ways I think most people hover somewhere midway between where they find themselves and where they would like to be. Life’s circumstances affect how we furnish and decorate, and also how much priority we give to such things. In our writing, the current project and/or schedule is bound to consume us for a time. I often have to do the ‘clean sweep’ at the conclusion of one project, before I can start another. :)

  2. S. Etole says:

    What a beautiful home you have. I like things uncluttered and like you, get frazzled when too many things go undone.

    • Carol says:

      Thanks, Susan. Soon after I took those photos I removed the coffee table from the middle of the family room floor! A little too much clutter — I seemed to be walking around it all the time. :)

  3. Since I don’t live in my own home right now, I’ve actually given this quite a bit of thought. The decor here does not inspire me, in fact it’s a bit oppressive. I also need some beauty and meaningful objects around. Coincidentally, at this very moment I am cleaning, dusting, rearranging the room where we have our computer. I’ve set up a plant, some pictures and personal momentos. It feels much more inviting :)

    • Carol says:

      It must be difficult living within someone else’s choice of decor when it doesn’t suit you, but I’m glad you’re finding ways to personalize at least the space where you write.

  4. I don’t like clutter either. It makes me feel the opposite of restful. Does it parallel my writing style? I like a few adjectives and adverbs, but not too many. Maybe. Blessings to you. I like your decor.

Leave a Comment

