Springtime is an oxymoron

Leanne Shirtliffe is guest posting at Writer Unboxed today. Her topic is ‘Funny Oxymorons for Writers‘ and if you haven’t read it, you should. After I’d digested her definitions of ‘finished draft’, ‘aspiring writer’ and ‘mild heart attack’ I realized how many other oxymorons we live with. ‘Organized chaos’ is a regular for me, but ‘active retirement’ and ‘baggy tights’ are equally appropriate.

My cyber friends across Canada and the USA have repeatedly mentioned winter’s persistent intrusion into their springtime. Joylene Butler celebrated the ice finally departing from her lake while remembering that only two weeks ago nasty weather gremlins dumped 18″ of fresh snow on her.  Friends from Alberta have left for Mexico to escape the confused weather patterns at home. Spring is supposed to be a time of beginning again, with new growth, daffodils and cherry blossoms, but in some places it doesn’t seem to understand that.

DSC02001

I was away on the weekend, visiting family in the Okanagan, and of course had my camera in hand. Scenery flashed by (it always does at 100 k/hr on the highway) and I snatched photos that began with the rich greens of coastal BC’s developing spring season, moved to include passing snowcapped mountains, and finished with the interior’s barely budding branches.

DSC02020

DSC02023

DSC02021

I’ve decided this year ‘springtime’ is an oxymoron.

~


A little madness in the Spring
Is wholesome even for the King,
But God be with the Clown
Who ponders this tremendous scene —
This whole Experiment of Green —
As if it were his own!

[Emily Dickinson]

~  ~  ~

3 thoughts on “Springtime is an oxymoron

  1. S. Etole says:

    I’d enjoyed this coupled with the Dickinson poem. I think it may have begun just a little here.

  2. Judith Robl says:

    Like all progress, spring comes in fits and starts. Two steps forward, three steps back. Sort of like my writing. This marching in place is not productive.

    Isn’t Emily Dickinson a treasure? I love virtually everything she’s written.

  3. joylene says:

    LOL. Guess what, Carol? We woke to an inch of snow on the ground! I’m not kidding!

    Your photos are beautiful. But you knew that. I can imagine Bob speeding down the highway with you next to him, your eye to the landscape. Hope you have a fabulous visit.

Leave a Comment

