Mixed Messages

On our last trip this sign made my eyebrows go up. Talk about a mixed message! Which was it going to be — bare roads or snow-packed ones? It sounded like the Department of Highways was covering its backside, but after a few miles we discovered the bare highway actually did become slushy, then snow covered.

MixedMessages

I’ve given off my own mixed messages at times. I’ve said with conviction that I need silence when I write… that I rarely have music on in the background. And now I’m sharing my newest addiction: a background music site, Songza. I’ve also moaned occasionally about all our rain… and then have to admit to loving this Rainy Mood website that provides the cozy background sound of rain layered with occasional rumbles of thunder to set the mood as I work on another mystery.

Many thanks to Leanne Shirtliffe at Wordbitches for sharing these as two of her six ‘must have’ apps and websites for writers. Today’s changing technology offers writers lots of assistance. It’s all right to take advantage of it even if doing so is contrary to what you may have said in the past.

When I complain about my TBR (to be read) pile of books never diminishing, I suppose I’m sending another mixed message by admitting I’ve found a wonderful new website, The 49th Shelf, that calls itself a “one-of-a-kind resource for discovering, discussing, and indulging in Canadian books.” And while I am a loner when it comes to writing efficiently, I found myself agreeing with a recent post on the Writer Unboxed blog that discusses the realities of a writer’s support team.

So am I conflicted, or are all these ‘mixed messages’ simply a sign of a complex writer’s mind? (I’m trying to keep a straight face here!) ;) I’m honestly not sure!

Are there areas where you have conflicting ideas or attitudes? How do they affect your writing?

~  ~  ~

3 thoughts on “Mixed Messages

  1. Jenn Hubbard says:

    “Do I contradict myself? Very well then I contradict myself, (I am large, I contain multitudes.)”
    –Walt Whitman

  2. Thanks for the mix-message and for the great links, Carol. Being a “cusp” child, I tend to enjoy the mix-messages of my life :)

  3. joylene says:

    I contradict myself all the time. I get muddled when I hear myself doing, so I stop and ask myself, “What is it you really think?” Generally it’s nothing to do with what I just said. Haha. See, bet I confused you already.

Leave a Comment

