The Colour of Winter

BlogBlank

.

“In the bleak midwinter, frosty wind made moan,
earth stood hard as iron, water like a stone;
snow had fallen, snow on snow, snow on snow,
in the bleak midwinter, long ago.”

Christina G. Rossetti, 1830-1894

Colour 1

We acknowledge scripture references that speak of God as a creator — a sculptor, musician, an architect and artist. We marvel at the impressive beauty in his world around us, in the glory of a sunset or a rainbow, the magnificence of snowcapped mountains or the miracle of a newborn’s eyelashes. I saw beauty today in the simplicity of bare twigs against a barren landscape. From God’s palette, his chosen colour splashed into an otherwise unimpressive winter’s day.

Colour 2

Interior designers will suggest adding an unexpected touch of colour to enliven an otherwise unremarkable decor. Artists and photographers know about highlighting one special feature to take a scene or painting from ordinary to extraordinary. What about authors? How do we make our writing go from common to exceptional?

As a writer, do you think of yourself as an artist? By being creative, how are you reflecting the creative power of God?

~

“He has filled them with skill to do every sort of work done by an engraver or by a designer or by an embroiderer in blue and purple and scarlet yarns and fine twined linen, or by a weaver—by any sort of workman or skilled designer.”

[Exodus 35:35 - ESV]

~  ~  ~

3 thoughts on “The Colour of Winter

  1. S. Etole says:

    Your banner photo is wonderful. I like the perspective through the grass.

  2. joylene says:

    I try to get closer to God while I write. I wasn’t even aware I was doing this for years. Then for whatever reason I saw that I yearned to understand, and I knew the only way to do that was to be quiet and let my fingers transport my spirit. Sadly these moments are fleeting strangers. But now that I’ve felt them, I can’t go back. I think that’s why I write because I want to be in that graceful moment again. I’ll spend the rest of my life trying to recapture it, those rare moments full of God.

    Such a powerful post, Carol. What you are capable of doing with words makes me marvel.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Comment

