All Hallows’ Eve

Some say All Hallows’ Eve has Christian roots, while others suggest they are Pagan. Either way, it would be hard to convince our little ones that there is anything but carved pumpkins, candy and costumes associated with their Hallowe’en traditions. As they traipse from door to door I doubt many of them  even know about the feast of All Saints.

But the children do feast… on candied apples and carmel popcorn, and a great assortment of calorie-laden goodies. (My scale will vouch for just how calorie-laden they are, too, after I indulge in the annual consumption of the leftovers!) We rarely have many youngsters find their way to our door, but that never deters me from buying a good supply (always of my favourite sweets) to have on hand “just in case” this year is the exception. I mean, it would never do not to have an adequate supply if more than the usual six arrived on my doorstep, now would it?

Tonight at midnight will mark the kick-off of the annual NaNoWriMo writing endeavour — November’s “thirty days and nights of literary abandon” in which I will once again join hundreds of thousands of other equally-crazy participants around the world as we scribble our way to the first draft of a 50,000 word novel.

It will also mark the start of another blogging hiatus for me, as I concentrate not only on my NaNo commitment but also on readying another manuscript for submission. I’ll return to posting here on November 12th. The scale will no doubt tattle about what I ate during my absence to keep my writing muse cooperative, but I don’t aim to discuss the numbers at all! Especially if trick-or-treaters are scarce around here tonight.

Happy Hallowe’en!

~  ~  ~

6 thoughts on “All Hallows’ Eve

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Enjoy your hiatus from the blog. I wish you much success with your submission and your NaNoWritMo efforts. The only number of any consequence for this month is word count. May the Lord bless your efforts.

  2. joylene says:

    The photograph is so beautiful that the leaves look fake. Like God couldn’t make them that pretty! Shish!

    Happy NaNo, Carol. I’m hoping to have my WIP finished by the end of December. Okay, maybe because that. Here’s hoping!

  3. Darlene says:

    Good luck with your writing and see you on Nov 12!! (I am dressed as – you guessed it – Jane Austen)

  4. Shari Green says:

    That photo is gorgeous, Mom! Love the texture of the tree bark in the background, and the lighting, and the colour…fantastic shot!

    Happy writing. I shall be madly NaNo’ing and consuming leftover candy, too. ;)

  5. shellriver says:

    Enjoy your “thirty days and nights of literary abandon!”

  6. Carol says:

    It’s nice to come home to find you’ve all stopped in here despite my absence. Thanks for your good wishes. My NaNoWriMo efforts continue.

Leave a Comment

