Is there still time?

My June-bearing strawberries don’t seem to realize it’s mid-October. Silly things! They produced their usual sweet morsels early in the summer and carried on growing leaves and setting new plants for the next couple months. Now, when I expect them to be dying down for the duration of winter, they aren’t. Dying, that is. No, they’re making more berries.

I suppose our prolonged warm, dry days convinced them it wasn’t too late to put forth another crop. From day to day there was no indication of how long the good weather would last, but passing calendar days didn’t deter their effort.

I like their attitude. It’s never too late to pursue whatever it is we’re of a mind to try.

I’ve mentioned my 89-year-old aunt before… creating hasti-notes and greeting cards from her original watercolour paintings, under the business name “Never Too Late.” I understand she has produced multiples of over fifty different designs in preparation for having a table at an upcoming Bazaar.

Sometimes we feel we’ve missed an opportunity, that the “right” time for something has passed us by. I’ve occasionally wondered if writing novels for publication is a lot of foolishness at my age since agents and publishers often mention they like to have long-term career relationships with their authors. Then I remember my aunt has also written a children’s chapter book for which she is seeking publication. If she can pursue such a dream at her age, I guess I can, too.

Blogging friend Sandra Heska King has a quotation on her Sunday post which is a good reminder to make the most of all that God has given us, including each new day and our abilities:

“Even if you live a long time, don’t take a single day for granted.
Take delight in each light-filled hour.”

The strawberries may not ripen, but they’re giving it their best shot. If they don’t make it, it won’t be for lack of trying.

Have you put dreams behind you, believing they are no longer achievable? What’s stopping you from trying?

~

“Everything comes too late for those who only wait.”

Elbert Hubbard

.
“Oh, how sweet the light of day,
and how wonderful to live in the sunshine!
Even if you live a long time, don’t take a single day for granted.
Take delight in each light-filled hour,
remembering that there will also be
many dark days
and that most of what comes your way is smoke.”

Ecclesiastes 11:7-8 [The Msg]

~  ~  ~