It’s a little like Christmas in October!

October’s here! You know how it was when you were a child waiting for Christmas? December 1st arrived, and with it came all those tantalizing secrets, the fragrance of Mother’s gingerbread baking, the ritual unpacking of heirloom ornaments and, of course, Dad’s annual untangling of Christmas lights. Days crossed off the calendar ever so  s l o w l y  and it seemed like Christmas vacation was never going to arrive.

Parents had a totally different perception of time. So much to do and only three weeks left!

It’s time to don my writing sweatshirt!

The arrival of October brings the same reality for me, but for different reasons. Barely three weeks. In fact, it’s not quite three weeks until the Surrey International Writers’ Conference begins. For those who are registered and anxious to be there, it’s time filled with impatient waiting. Three weeks seem like a long time, but I’m all grown up now. I know it’s not.

I suspect there are people beginning to scramble. There may be a bit of panic. But as we “X” off the days on the calendar there’s no question everything will get done and the Conference weekend will eventually arrive. That’s not the sound of sleigh bells in the distance, but  faint strains of the hallowed “Hippopotamus Song” mingled with chants of “This day we write!”

Oh, squeeeee!!! October’s here!

~

What special occasion(s) whipped you into breathless excitement as a child? Did becoming an adult alter your perspective?

~  ~  ~

.

15 thoughts on “It’s a little like Christmas in October!

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Your posts about the Surrey International Writers Conference have whetted my appetite. Someday I hope to be able to attend.

  2. Erica Vetsch says:

    I hope you have a wonderful time at the conference and come home brimming with confidence and new ideas!

  3. You sound just a little bit excited:) Hope you have a wonderful time… hope to attend something like that in my future too.

  4. gingercalem says:

    Add my squees to the chorus. I’ll be there. And yes I’m scrambling. But it’ll all get done and we’ll have a wonderful time.

  5. Shari Green says:

    squee squee squee squee squee !!

    Yes, I’m a bit excited, too. ;)

  6. joylene says:

    I wish I was going. I’d love to hang out with you and Shari and see and hear all there is to see and hear. I’m be there in spirit. It does remind me that the year didn’t turn out quite as I imagined. I thought I’d be in New Brunswick by now teaching Blake how to do yoga. I’m trying not to feel sorry for myself and trusting that Christmas in Cluculz Lake will be very special. Hope you have the bestest of times at the conference.

    • Carol says:

      I wish you were coming, too. Since you’re not in NB after all, you could always change your mind. Registrations are still open. :)

      I’m betting you’ll make Christmas special, no matter where you spend it. We’re staying home this Christmas, but I’ve just received word that at least part of our family is coming to spend it with us, so I feel better.

  7. Sue Harrison says:

    Christmas was the season for me, too, Carol. We had wonderful Christmas pageants at our (secular) school and programs at our church, shopping trips, and lots of snow. I still love Christmas just as much and will soon begin listening to Christmas carols.

    Your writers’ conference sounds wonderful. Have a great, great time!!!

    • Carol says:

      We didn’t often get snow, but it was still a magical time for me. I usually start listening to Christmas carols while baking our fruitcakes in early November.

  8. Christmas was always my favorite season as a child. I still love Christmas, but I prefer to celebrate it more simply than in years gone by.

Leave a Comment

