Both Sides of the Fence

It may be September, but summer isn’t over yet. Days of warm sunshine continue, coaxing me to dally at the lackadaisical pace I’ve enjoyed during the past month.

Where would I rather be?

Away in the RV…

… or at home on the deck?

Truth is, after I’ve been away for a while in the RV, I’m anxious to get home, and after I’ve been home for a while, I’m itching to get out in the RV again. Do you think maybe that’s where the saying, “the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence” originated?

It applies to more than summertime, too. In a recent Facebook comment author Richard Mabry mentioned his book contract and how he’s doing at meeting deadlines. He said, it’s a “two-edged sword: good to have a contract, bad to have a deadline.”

From the unpubbed side of the fence, a publishing contract looks well worth the stress of extensive edits and brick-wall deadlines. But published authors seem united in their advice to enjoy the luxury of deadline-free writing while we can – that a writer’s life changes forever after the signature is on a contract.

I’m thinking it’s better to look for the positive aspects of the present moment – to make the most of each one and not wish them away in favour of something else. (Not to say I’m not working hard and hoping to place my signature on one of those contracts some day!) :)

What advantages do you see on either side of the publication fence?

~

“He who is not contented with what he has,
would not be contented with what he would like to have.”

Socrates

.

“Not that I am speaking of being in need,
for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.
I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound.
In any and every circumstance,
I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger,
abundance and need.”

Philippians 4:11-12

.

“Enter into his gates with thanksgiving,
and into his courts with praise:
be thankful unto him, and bless his name.”

Psalm 100:4

~  ~  ~

4 thoughts on “Both Sides of the Fence

  1. Judith Robl says:

    Every situation has its positives and negatives. The secret is to learn to roll with the punches. I seem to work better with deadlines than without. Partly that’s because my family has learned to respect an exterior deadline better than my internal ones.

  2. Keli Gwyn says:

    One constant I’ve found on both sides of the publishing fence is the blessing of friendship. I’ve met so many wonderful people as a result of my writing. Those friendships enrich my life.

  3. torimcrae says:

    Deadlines can be stressful, but being slightly ADHD I’ve learned that when I’m close to a deadline (or appointment, etc.) I become more focused and workl more efficiently. It’s also easier to say no to distractions.

    Regarding RVs vs. home, I feel just like you do. We’ve been home for two weeks and I’ve been trying to figure out someplace to go in the RV again!

  4. Carol says:

    I’ve been nodding in agreement as I read your responses! Like Judith and Tori, I often work more efficiently when faced with a deadline. And I’m loving the cyber friends I’ve encountered — aspiring and published writers who are generous with their encouragement, support and knowledge.

Leave a Comment

