September’s Eve


In some time zones September has already arrived, but here there are still a few hours of August left.  The ‘blue moon’ is just beginning to peep over the crest of the hill, barely visible through the trees that whisper ebony sounds in the night.

I haven’t encountered one yet (thankfully!!!), but spiders are already about their pre-autumn business these days. They dangle from intricate webs across yellowing garden spaces and creep out (menacingly, I swear) from obscure hideaways in the house.

Our vacation weather has been superb, but there’s no denying the hint of fall in it now… with wisps of morning fog and a shivery edge to nighttime breezes.

On a recent afternoon at Moyie Lake this doe wandered into sight, nibbling and sipping her way along the creek while keeping an eye on her older fawn who obediently stayed in the bushes out of sight. (Others saw it; my camera and I didn’t.)

“As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.”

[Psalm 42:1, NIV]

.

Life will change subtly when the calendar page turns over. We’ll experience the pull of old routines and new ventures, and begin feeling nostalgic about the impending loss of summer’s freedoms. What keeps us going when we’re not sure we’re ready to face a renewal of ‘the daily grind’? How do you feel about the arrival of September?

The doe reminded me that all I need is provided by the Creator of all.

As the deer panteth for the water
So my soul longeth after thee
You alone are my hearts desire
And I long to worship thee

You alone are my strength my shield
To You alone may my spirit yield
You alone are my hearts desire
And I long to worship thee

[Martin J. Nystrom]

[Click on composer's name to hear song.]

~  ~  ~

 

6 thoughts on “September’s Eve

  1. joylene says:

    It was too cloudy to see the moon last night, but earlier in the evening I did see it and while it looked normal, I reminded myself how fortunate I am to enjoy its splender. When it reflects off the water, it’s like a path has been lit just for us. Probably every other home on this side feels the same.

    Beautiful photos, Carol. And the verse is so poignant.

  2. Fiona says:

    I feel like September means starting all over again – a fresh start in a way. Everything is getting back to normal, and for me I’m going to be leaving home in a few weeks (I’m going to university), so September definitely signifies new experiences for me! But unfortunately, it also signifies being cold – I get cold very easily! – and spiders being everywhere, which I hate! Great post and wonderful pictures too, Carol!

  3. Beautiful post, Carol. My memories of living near the shores of Lake Erie are kindled by your description of September’s arrival. It seemed as though overnight the air changed. Cool and crisp it became, gently introducing in the new season. Change always causes me to cling closer to the Lord. Thank you for the Psalm. Blessings to you, Carol.

  4. Laura Best says:

    I was disappointed a little that we had cloud here last night, but the evening before the moon was beautiful with a few wispy clouds pulled across its face. It made my imagination soar.

  5. Betty Vieira says:

    I have always loved the Fall. My Mom thought there was something wrong with me but I love the way things prepare themselves for the winter ahead. Leaves fall; spiders build webs EVERYWHERE; plants go into hibernation but often with one last gasp of colour; and I can breathe as it is no longer so hot! Love the cool evenings and sunshine filled days. Thanks for your photos and thoughts. Very inspiring!

  6. Carol says:

    Thanks to each of your for sharing your thoughts here. The full moon was silvery beautiful here… not particularly large, but still lovely. I’m hoping for a ‘harvest moon’ next month… big and orange as it hangs on the horizon!

    @Betty, I think fall is my favourite season. I’m not a lover of much heat, so sunshine and gorgeous colours on crisp autumn days are my idea of perfection.

    @Fiona, I hope you have a good year at university!

Leave a Comment

