The Lucky 7 Meme

Author Laura Best tagged me in a “Lucky 7” meme. (Thanks, Laura!) I don’t too often get into such things because I’m uncomfortable tagging someone else, putting the onus on them to participate, which is required to keep the meme active. But this one is fun. We’re asked to go to page 77 of our current w.i.p., count down seven lines, and then copy and post the next seven lines.

It gives everyone a sneak peek at one of our stories… just a tiny taste that can’t possibly give away anything vital to the plot. So, (taking a deep breath) here are my seven lines from page 77 of SHOWDOWN, which is what I’ve been revising this month.

            “The teens ignored all of us except to scatter off the path long enough to let us pass. There was no way to know if an unpleasant encounter had been averted but as their calls and laughter diminished behind us, I let out the breath I didn’t realize I’d been holding. I rarely feel vulnerable when I’m on my own, especially when I have one of the dogs with me, but this was a reminder that as a lone woman, it wasn’t smart to start out for a walk in a relatively unpopulated area of an unfamiliar city at sunset.”

That’s it! (And it really was seven lines in the actual manuscript and the WP draft.) How strange to see the words isolated from the other sentences, paragraphs and chapters. I know what came before and what comes after, but here by themselves on the page, I wonder how they seem to you. (You can tell me if you want to, but you needn’t. In fact, I’d prefer if you didn’t unless you can be totally honest. Just remember that I’m coming to read your blog once I’m done here!)

The other requirement is to tag seven other authors and let them know. This is where I take another deep breath and set out my list with apologies to anyone who would really rather not be singled out for this opportunity. In alphabetical order (because of course I have no favourites):

Joylene Butler 

Dave Ebright

Shari Green

Ed Griffin

Keli Gwyn

Jeanette Levellie

Richard Mabry

There you have it. Now I have to sneak over to all these blogs and hope I can get in and out without anyone taking my head off while I admit to what I’ve done. (But it’s fun, I tell you… fun!!!)

~


Lucky 7 meme protocol:

1. Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
2. Go to line seven
3. Copy down the next seven lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them as they’re written.
4. Tag seven authors
5. Let them know

~  ~  ~

16 thoughts on “The Lucky 7 Meme

  1. Judith Robl says:

    What an interesting thing to do.

    I feel tension in your paragraph and wonder what’s happening in this lone woman’s life. And why is she walking at sunset in an unfamiliar city? But then, who is “all of us?” Is it the lady and more than one dog? Or are there more people in the scene?

    Oh, this is way too short a teaser!

  2. Carol, I would first love to comment on your new format. I love it, love it, love it. And about those seven lines … I love those too. When I saw that Laura tagged you for thie Meme, I as waiting to hear your writing voice at last. It was worth the wait. Good job :)

  3. Those seven lines, absolutely and honestly, make me want to know what happened before and what’s coming next! Very fun.

  4. Katt says:

    I love your seven lines—-can’t wait to read the rest!

  5. Laura Best says:

    I usually don’t tag others but, like you, I thought it sounded like fun. I’m glad you tagged Joylene and Dave. As I was thinking about this post at work today I thought I should have tagged them. Like Florence, I’ve been curious to read what you’re working on. You know you could have shared more, Carol. We would have really loved that!!! ;)

  6. joylene says:

    I love your excerpts. It made me think of you and your dogs. And your need to be outside. I could even hear your voice. Lovely, Carol.

    I’m very grateful, and you’re right this does sound like fun. And yes, I stopped participating in awards because it was so hard to find someone to tag. Even now, I’m anxious to do post my 7 lines, but I can’t think of 7 writers I can tag. Oh well. Let the fun begin.

  7. Your seven lines were amazing Carol. Make me want to read more! I think has to be one of the most fun tags yet. I will post mine soon.

  8. Carol says:

    Thanks to each of you for stopping here and commenting today. You’ve made it quite a painless exercise for me. ;)

  9. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks for sharing a portion of your story, Carol. I sense imminent danger, which is a good thing. Makes me want to know more.

    Thanks, too, for tagging me. Sorry I can’t share since my story’s contracted, but readers will be able to read the whole book come July. =)

  10. girlparker says:

    Hey Carol! Nice job. You’re so right, it looks odd w/o the surrounding exposition doesn’t it? I had that trouble too – I wanted to fill in the reader. Ah well. Love the tension you have there!

  11. Shari Green says:

    Here I am again, and I’ve kinda got the heebie-jeebies thinking about your character wandering about in the dying light when all manner of scary stuff could be out there.

Leave a Comment

