Of Reflections and Reflecting

There are only two mirrors in our summer cabin… both miniscule. One was affixed to the inside of a kitchen cupboard by a tall man, and the other ended up a little too high above a dresser in the front bedroom. But who really needs to check one’s reflection while holidaying in the middle of nowhere, when lipstick isn’t worn and every hair definitely isn’t going to be in place because there’s no electricity for a curling iron?

The reflections I most enjoy seeing at the cabin are ones of the lake.

But there are other kinds of reflections in life, too, and for me one of the best is seeing Christ mirrored in the faces of his people.  That’s an image not easily forgotten. I’m not naming names here, but I’ve encountered some wonderful Christian mirrors lately.

How about you? What characteristics in people do you find inspiring or uplifting? What do you hope people see when they look at you?

And for my fellow writers, what do your characters reflect that tells us something about their motivations or aspirations?

~

“But whenever someone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.”

[2 Corinthians 3:16-18 – NLT]

~  ~  ~

7 thoughts on “Of Reflections and Reflecting

  1. I love your pictures!What a peaceful place.I love to see true caring in the faces of others.Genuine love for each other.

  2. Thoughtful post, Carol. More great photos. I don’t see it on the “face” … I see it in the eyes … the window to the soul. I see the wonder of creation, that individual who is part of us, the never ending thread that binds us to all humanity. Those reflections are like snowflakes … each different and wonderful as itself :)

  3. Sharon O says:

    I have been doing a lot of reflecting lately… and love to just sit and listen to water and air and wind…

  4. joylene says:

    I spent last evening with 3 friends that definitely have God’s light shining in their faces. I see kindness, sincerity, thoughtfulness, and concern when I look at them. I hear the love in their voices too. I’m very fortunate. In my characters I think sadness, loss, and yearning show in their expressions. I do write suspense, so their lack of blessings go hand in hand, generally.

  5. Darlene says:

    I find that a genuine smile is the most uplifting thing in the world. My hope is that I am always able to share a smile with anyone in my life or anyone I meet. My Dad always said, “A smile doesn’t cost anything but it means the world to another person.” He also said, “The best dressed person is the one with a smile.” (I always loved that one)

  6. A beautiful post in every way, Carol. Thanks so much. (That one with the cloud reflection?? Oh my, just STUNNING.)

  7. I appreciate hearing from all of you today. I’m working more on revisions than on the new writing I intended, but I’ve been hard at it all afternoon. I hear you when it comes to a smile reflecting the inner glow. I agree with Darlene’s Dad… no matter the circumstances, wearing a smile really makes a huge difference.

Leave a Comment

