Still Saturday: Complementary Opposites

Complementary colors make a strange pair. They are opposite, yet they require each other. They incite each other to maximum vividness when together; and annihilate each other when mixed.”

[Johannes Itten]

.

Scripture is full of opposites, and seemingly contradictory statements that teach us simple truths:

Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

[Matthew 5:4-7]

~

Linking with Sandra Heska King for Still Saturday:

8 thoughts on “Still Saturday: Complementary Opposites

  1. Wow! Such a beautiful photo! I am a WordPress photographer as well, so I love seeing posts like this! Great job, and keep it up!

  2. I love that quote. I think it fits personalities as well. And I see crosses all up and down those stems. :)

    It’s so much fun to have you link up.

  3. joylene says:

    you have a wonderful eye for beauty, Carol. Thank for sharing.

    “Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour. For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.”
    – Bible: Ecclesiastes

  4. As always Carol, I loved the photography. You have a great eye and a wonderful bent for great quotes as well :)

  5. Blessed are we by your words and photo! Thank you, Careann!

  6. S. Etole says:

    It’s been years since I have seen Oregon grape. We lived in Washington State when I was a child and I would see it then.

  7. A beautiful photo and perfect for this post. I love it when photographers help me appreciate the small, unnoticed lovely things in nature.

  8. careann says:

    I’m glad this colourful photo of Oregon Grape gave pleasure.

    I particularly appreciated Joylene‘s pairing of the verse from Ecclesiastes 4:9-10. And also that Sandra saw the crosses that made the photo link to her ‘Still Saturday’ post.

    Thanks to all of you for your feedback. You’ve blessed my weekend. :)

Leave a Comment

