A worthwhile challenge: can we do it?

Yes, I know I said I was taking a blogging hiatus, but this is worth breaking it for.

Every so often I come across a very worthwhile cause. This time it was on Facebook, where I discovered singer/songwriter Jimmy Rankin had decided to do a Christmas giveaway — a personally signed guitar. He plans to give it to someone who comments on the offer, and whose comment garners the most number of “likes” before December 31st. Simple. No strings attached.

Win a signed guitar Epiphone DR 100 from me for the holidays! Just comment below and tell me why you’d like to win. Have your friends like your comment and the person with the most likes will win! Good luck everyone! :) Happy Holidays! – Jimmy
.
What made it worthwhile to me, however, was that one of the people who commented was Kelly Yeats, the sister of author and blogging friend Laura Best, and the reason she would like to win the guitar is so she can give it to her nephew who is recovering from a devastating car accident in which his back was broken.
.
There are hundreds of comments on Jimmy Rankin’s post, but only two are really close to winning, with Kelly Yeats in second place barely a dozen votes behind. Lots of people would love to have this prize, but as I read through the comments last week I realized that most just “wanted” it, either for themselves or to give to someone else who would like to have it. I couldn’t see anyone else who would benefit by being physically and emotionally encouraged in his long road to recovery like Kelly’s nephew. So, I’ve taken up the cause, too. With only three days left, the two top comments are staying pretty much neck-‘n-neck in number of votes. I’d love to help rally more votes for Kelly’s comment.
.
This is a Facebook thing, so you have to have a Facebook account if you’d also like to help.
  • Sign into your Facebook account.
  • Go to Jimmy’s page.
  • Once there, find Kelly’s comment (you’ll have to click several times on “view previous comments”, then scroll down to find hers. It was made on December 14th at 2:37 a.m. my time (PST), 6:37 a.m. if you’re farther east where Kelly lives.)
  • Click “like” on her specific comment for the vote to count (adding your own comment in support of her doesn’t count as a vote). (There are over 1100 “likes” on it now, but she’s still running in second place.)
I hope you’ll agree this is worth the effort and, if you have a Facebook account, will click on over and vote by “liking” Kelly’s comment. I’ll let you know in my Monday post how it works out. Whoever wins, I wish her nephew a speedy and complete recovery from his injuries.
Carol
~  ~  ~
JANUARY 1 UPDATE
Although Kelly didn’t win the contest, she maintained second place by about 20 votes. This morning Jimmy Rankin posted the following notice:

“You guys rock! The response to the Epiphone guitar contest was fantastic – so many great comments – wow! Congratulations to Colleen Ingraham on winning the contest! It was neck and neck right down to the wire. Kelly – if you can hang tight, I’m going to get a signed guitar to you for your nephew. Happy new year to all and here’s to your dreams becoming reality in 2012! Cheers… – Jimmy
.
Meanwhile, Kelly has created a separate Facebook page to collect well-wishes for her nephew, Robin Varner. What a lot of ‘coming together’ this contest has created!
~  ~  ~
7 thoughts on “A worthwhile challenge: can we do it?

  1. S. Etole says:

    Prayers for her nephew as he heals from this accident.

  2. randy saunders says:

    I am a grandfather who has always dreamed of playing guitar, and this would be a blessing for me!

  3. Jennie Dugan says:

    Good luck, Carol. I hope Kelly wins. I voted and shared it on my Facebook page with a note.

  4. joylene says:

    I liked it. Here’s hoping Kelly wins. That would be so special.

    Happy New Year, Carol!

  5. careann says:

    Thanks to each of you for taking time to stop in here during this busy Christmas time. I really appreciate your responses… prayers, heading over to Facebook and adding your “like” votes, and all. You’re the greatest!

  6. Judith Robl says:

    Just posted my “like” but Kelly is trailing by five likes at the moment. HELP!!!

    • careann says:

      Thanks for making the effort, Judith. Even if they don’t win the guitar, they plan to print out all the comments and take them to show to the nephew who still doesn’t know anything about this. They think he’ll be blown away by all the people he doesn’t even know, who are wishing him well during his recovery.

Leave a Comment

