Distractions


You know how it is. Good intentions get you started and then distractions interrupt. You hold out against them for a while, but eventually you figure, hey, just give in and get them out of your system.

Wednesday it was the outdoors beckoning. Welcome sunshine urged us outside. DH decided to put up the Christmas lights and I couldn’t resist a bit of long-overdue fall gardening followed by a wander down to the marsh.

Thursday morning was for Remembering, while the afternoon was for baking. In our family November 11th is also the traditional day for baking Christmas fruitcakes. You just can’t ignore a tradition.

Christmas fruit cakes

Even when I settle down to write, distractions come peering in the window, begging for attention.

Raccoon at the window

So, you see, it’s easy to rationalize why my NaNoWriMo efforts aren’t staying quite in line with the daily average required. I should be in excess of 21,600 words as I start in to write again this morning. My 17,800 fall considerably short of that.

It’s those darned distractions.

Are you a disciplined writer and make your daily word count goal without any excuses, or do distractions sometimes de-rail you? What kind of distractions tempt you the most?

6 thoughts on “Distractions

  1. Judith Robl says:

    What a darling bandit at your window! And I can smell the Christmas fruitcakes. Don’t beat yourself up. Even the most dedicated workers need a bit of rest and recuperation from time to time. I’ve no doubt that the words will fly all the more rapidly after your short hiatus.

  2. I love fruitcake! The loaves look delicious in your over. I’m imagining the aroma swirling from the oven as they bake. Inhale… This raccoon wants in. Perhaps he smells your fruitcake, too.

    Remembering, loving our families, baking fruitcakes, all these deserve their place in our lives, and I don’t believe we will write as well if we let writing bump them from our schedules.

    I’m not disciplined enough. My distractions are excellent excuses that convince me I must put aside my writing. They are good reasons, but when I finally sit down to write, I turn to my blog first. Is that because my blog is more important? I don’t know that it is, but it’s an enjoyable time to unwind.

  3. joylene says:

    My DH, son, and grandson are across the road building a B I G fire. It’s so quiet. I could write and write and write before they decide to come home and make lots of racket. But here I sit wondering if I should go see what they’re doing. Yes, the intense sunlight isn’t making it easier.

  4. Tricia says:

    Besides December, November has to be the 2nd worse time of year to participate in Nano. January is better. Can I change the rules on everyone?

  5. Distractions are an important part of my enjoyment of life. The hardest for me to resist is when my kids call or come home for a visit. I absolutely love talking to my sons and daughter. They are the greatest blessing to me, and I will gladly stop whatever else I was doing when they want to talk.

  6. Distractions are sometimes the nicest part of a day. I can embrace them when I know I will compensate later for whatever has been put aside. Thanks for sharing your perspective, everyone.

Leave a Comment

