Salad Greens and Aborted Efforts

Lenten Rose

Warmer pre-Spring days urge new growth in the gardens. It’s such a delight to see signs of the coming season everywhere. Buds are bursting on our lilac bushes and in the woods around our home, while the Lenten rose blossoms and leaves of emerging daylilies dip and sway in the still chill breezes.

Daylilies

Not all is idyllic, however. Elsewhere on our property the deer have made salad of the lily spears, munching them off with scissor-like precision. Drat those deer! The lilies will eventually bloom – they manage to do so every year – but it will be later than everywhere else, and the clumps will look tattered. I should relocate them to a less visible location but I tend to ignore the damage and hope that the availability of this convenient meal will distract the deer from other tasty tidbits elsewhere in the garden.

Munched Daylilies

In your writing, when new ideas begin to emerge, do they always reach maturity? What can mar your earliest efforts? Do you always abandon them or is it possible to find something worthwhile to salvage?

6 thoughts on “Salad Greens and Aborted Efforts

  1. joylene says:

    I saw the blossoms on the news. Wow, that’s what I miss the most about living up here. We don’t see blooms for several weeks. However, the ice is rotting and may be unsafe in less than 2 weeks. That’s amazing. Yay, spring!

    • Most winters the ice on the lake at our cabin doesn’t go out until late April… occasionally into May. But I don’t imagine that will be the case this year. Spring is coming early everywhere.

  2. New ideas, like your lovely plants, take time to grow and blossom into something nourishing. I recently had an article publishe in a Guideposts anthology that I’d written eight years ago!

    I pray a lot. That’s the water that causes growth. And like the farmer, waiting is necessary. You can’t rush good writing, like you can’t rush a good crop.

    • Eight years is a long time but you’re right about not being able to rush it. There are a lot of similarities between writing and gardening, aren’t there? I think about preparing the ground (learning and research), planting good seed (thinking through an idea and plotting), nurturing (editing and revising), and then waiting… oh, the waiting… and lots of prayer through all the stages, with hope for the eventual outcome. And just like in a garden there are sometimes unexpected results. :)

  3. I jot down new ideas and keep them in a file to use later. If one seems really good, I’ll write until it stops flowing, and set it aside. Things that don’t fit what I’m currently working on may be useful on another project, so I seldom throw ideas away. My hard drive and file cabinets are overflowing, and I keep getting more ideas. They may never grow bigger, but I’ll always have lots of possibilities to choose from. (I sound like a word hoarder!)

    • A writer that’s a word hoarder seems appropriate! I have files, too, although I don’t seem to have them very well organized. I think I need a better way of keeping track of them.

Leave a Comment

