The iPad Is Coming

I think I’m in love! Well, yes, I have been all along with my hubby, but we’re talking about electronic toys now, and they do more than help with the dishes and clean the garage! While its name has been controversial, the Apple iPad’s introduction last Wednesday substantiated the claims of those who said it would be out of the ordinary.

.

The new iPad is described as a cross between the iPhone and a MacBook laptop. It weighs just 1.5 lbs. and is a half-inch thick. Navigation is done with the flick of a finger on a 9.7” (measured diagonally) multi-touch LED-backlit screen that rotates between landscape and portrait positions. Thanks to IPS technology it has a wide 178-degree viewing angle.

.

It does just about everything, functioning with a powerful but efficient A4 chip custom-designed for Apple. It apparently has up to ten hours of battery life. With a starting price of $499 for the basic 16GB of storage it will be more affordable than many expected.

.

That’s still $499 more than I have to splurge on another toy, of course, so, love it or not, when it appears in March I’ll just be ogling it from a distance. But it sure is cool!

.

UPDATE:

Prior to writing the above I’d been out of touch for a few days. I’ve subsequently discovered lots of conversations about the iPad and its e-book/iBookstore implications. Two excellent articles can be found on recent blogs of Rachelle Gardner and Kristen Nelson.

12 thoughts on “The iPad Is Coming

  1. Laura Best says:

    All these new gadgets make me a bit apprehensive. I’m not very computer savvy as it is. In fact, if I told you how long it takes me to figure things out on word press I know you’d laugh. And the only thing dial-up accomplishes it, I get to exercise a great deal of patience.

    But I will agree, Carol. The ipad does sound pretty amazing and the price isn’t outrageous either. At this point, however,I can’t see it as being something I will invest in in the near future.

    I am so in awe of how quickly our world is changing!!

    • I would never laugh! My DH feels the same way; he uses and appreciates his computer but gets frustrated with all the other new technology. He’s mechanical when it comes to the house and vehicles but I’m the one who sets up and troubleshoots our electronic hardware and software. It fascinates me.

  2. Too expensive for now… battery life too short. But in a few years, with more tricks, more battery life, and smaller price, I’m all in!

  3. Heather & Doug says:

    I WANT one!!!

  4. Dave Ebright says:

    I think it’s best to let ‘em get the bugs out with the first model, wait ’til some competition develops to bring the price down & read the reports from the initial batch of buyers / users. I’m not so great with new gadgets & gizmos & patiencs is not one of my better traits. Of course, I don’t have very many good traits to begin with so…..

    • The first version of anything is always a risk. I agree… even if I were going to get one, and I’m not, I’d want to wait. As for your good traits, I’m pretty sure you have lots of them hiding under the surface, even if you don’t like to admit it. ;)

  5. Cher says:

    I want one! But, as you said, a little too expensive for my pocket.

  6. joylene says:

    I agree, Carol. As soon as I saw it, I knew I wanted one. I visualize sitting on the sofa at night, next to the hubby, pounding away on rewrites for my next book. Yes, I can actually focus while the game’s blaring. I could read. I could play games. I could check out everybody’s blogs. I could… Yeah, in my dreams. LOL.

    • I do most of those things anyway, but on my laptop. I even have a couple of eBooks on it. But it without the eink feature I find it isn’t as easy to read a book on it as it would be on one of the eReaders. And I did see that the iPad doesn’t multi-task… apparently you can only have one application open at a time… which might not be a big deal for many people but I’m a little spoiled with the capabilities of my current computers. If money were no object, mind you, I’d have all sorts of electronic gizmos just for the fun of it. But the fact is, I don’t really need anything more than I have now. (At least for now.)

Leave a Comment

