An Agent Retires

From today’s Publishers Lunch:

BookEnds Literary Agency co-founder Jacky Sach will retire from publishing after 10 years as an agent for “new opportunities.” Sach began her publishing career in 1985 at Berkley. BookEnds will continue operating under the ownership of Jessica Faust.”

.

Back in December I copied out the Cranberry Daiquiri recipe from the BookEnds’ pre-Christmas blog entry, went about my holiday pursuits and then somehow managed to miss the initial announcement of this on the January 4 blog. Fortunately the Publishers Lunch article caught my attention.

.

I met Jacky at the first writers’ conference (SiWC) I ever attended and she was the first agent to invite a submission of my first novel. Hers was also the first rejection letter I ever received. When I look back at that novel now I am overwhelmed at my audacity in thinking it was ready for an agent to see, but because of the gentle and personal nature of Jacky’s response I was encouraged to continue writing. Not all novice writers have such a good first submission experience. I hoped some day to have something else to send her way, but her retirement now precludes that.

.

Whatever her “new opportunities” are, I wish Jacky continued success.