The Kreativ Blogger Award – Part 1

KreativeBloggerAwardAwards are fun. They occur in just about every arena and are given for a variety of accomplishments. Writers especially covet those that honour their writing achievements. Bloggers? Well, I didn’t know until recently that there are awards for us, too.

I returned from a week away to discover that I had received Carol Benedict’s nomination for the Kreativ Blogger Award. I thank her for giving my blog a thumbs up although, like her, I have to admit to not really knowing what the criteria is.

I did some checking and found there are some rules that accompany the award:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you for this award.
  2. Copy the logo and place it on your blog.
  3. Link to the person who nominated you for this award.
  4. Name 7 things about yourself that people might find interesting.
  5. Nominate 7 Kreativ Bloggers.
  6. Post links to the 7 blogs you nominate.
  7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs letting them know they have been nominated.

The first three are done. But the fourth — seven interesting things about ME? Hmmm. I might have to borrow a few of the 25 Random Things I posted a while ago on Facebook. Let’s see…

  1. I’ve bred, trained and exhibited Shelties in conformation and obedience for more than 35 years and have a permanently registered kennel name (“Careann” – sound familiar?). Since 1998 Labrador Retrievers have also shared my life.
  2. I was the canine consultant and dog show coordinator for the filming of the movie “Best In Show”.
  3. I painted in oils, mostly landscapes, for two decades, sold everything and now don’t own a single piece of my own work.
  4. Considering I don’t read music well or play the piano very well either, it’s remarkable that I managed to direct a choir and church music program for almost 14 years.
  5. Astronaut Robert Thirsk was one of the students in my Grade One classroom when I began teaching in 1959.
  6. In 1954 I was a majorette, twirling my baton and high-stepping with girlfriend Diane Close, providing half time entertainment for the BC Lions football games. “Lions roar in ’54!”
  7. Stored in a box downstairs are dozens of my mother-in-law’s lovely cups and saucers while in my kitchen cupboards you’ll only find pottery mugs. That says something about my version of entertaining.

Okay, okay, I know that last one is kind of lame, but I’ve run out of things that qualify as “interesting”!

Now, deciding on who to nominate for the on-going award is the next challenge. There are a number of very worthy bloggers whose sites I love visiting, but some have already received this award, and I suspect some of the others – working authors, agents and editors — simply don’t have time to participate. I’ll have to give this some more thought over the weekend.  Stay tuned…   [To be continued]

6 thoughts on “The Kreativ Blogger Award – Part 1

  1. vade55 says:

    Wow. You have a variety of talents, Carol. If you don’t mind sharing your reason, why did you stop painting? I can imagine you were very good at it since you were able to sell your work.

    Carol

  2. joylene says:

    Carol, I’m surprised, but not shocked by your credentials. Your posts always move to ponder stuff I don’t generally think of, so I sort of figured you were a woman of many talents.

    I too was a majorette. In fact, my baton is here somewhere. I helped celebrate a special date once. I just can’t remember when and why. lol 1964 special? I remember having fun touring around with my friends.

    I have a special toilet seat for my MIL, so when friends ask to use the washroom, I say, “Sure, just plop the seat on the floor first.”

    I get the strangest looks.

    • I don’t know that I would call them ‘credentials’… I’ve just had lots of opportunities to do interesting things by being the right person in the right place at the right time.

      Your toilet seat comment is priceless! I can imagine the looks you must get. :)

  3. Tricia says:

    Wow. Number three. I always wished I could paint so I didn’t have to buy my wall art. I might even have your paintings on my wall. I can’t believe you wouldn’t hang your own art on your wall, but I’m not an artist so I don’t understand.

    • It’s not so much that I stopped painting, Carol, but that I was interrupted and never quite got started again. We moved to the mainland from our home of 17 years on Vancouver Island just at the time that I started up my own business. Life became too frenzied for me to take the time I needed to paint. By the time I sold that business I was occupied with breeding dogs and pursuing my writing, and now the tubes of paint have dried up. One of these days I’ll replace them. I have a couple not-so-great scanned photos of my work on my Flickr page if you’re interested in having a peek:
      http://www.flickr.com/photos/69253724@N00/sets/72157617672399754/

      Tricia, I sold my work in an artists’ co-op that was only open during the summer months. When I came home from vacation one summer there was a phone message that the shop had sold everything they had of mine and could I please provide more. Since I work in oils it was going to take too long to work up anything new, so I took my favourites off the walls at home. It was a good summer and they sold, too! Then we moved, as I mentioned above to Carol.

Leave a Comment

