Oh, Bear of Little Brain That I Am!

My husband walked down the hall to his office moments ago and then returned, muttering that he had forgotten what he was going for. I sympathize because I’ve done that, too. Generally if I take myself back to what I was doing when the thought first occurred the memory will return.

 

There are times, however, when an important thought doesn’t find its way back into my addled brain. It’s usually one related to my writing — the perfect choice of words in dialogue, an ideal twist of plot or bit of scheming — and if I don’t make a note of it instantly, it’s gone forever. I can struggle an entire morning fiddling with phrases to try and reclaim the forgotten one, but nothing feels as right as the lost original. Oh, the frustration! “Aghhh, I’m such a bear of little brain!” I storm, retreating to the words of one of my favourite furry characters.

 

So when I came across a blog entry by James Chartrand titled “The Winnie the Pooh Guide to Blogging” I had to drop everything and read it. What caught my attention was his Lesson #5:

 

“I don’t see much sense in that,” said Rabbit. “No,” said Pooh humbly, “There isn’t. But there was going to be when I began it. It’s just that something happened to it along the way.”

“Pooh never panicked when plans went astray. Life continually threw him curve balls and he never seemed surprised. Obstacles cropped up constantly, but that didn’t bother Pooh either. He expected adversity to happen. When it did, Pooh seemed almost pleased, as if he were greeting an old friend come to visit.

“That calm acceptance of life would serve bloggers [writers?] very well. When plans don’t work out, they just don’t – no big deal. You’ve come this far, and you can do it again, so there’s no point in getting stressed out until your seams split. Make a new plan and get on with it.”

 

Now there’s wisdom! Thanks, James.

 

2 thoughts on “Oh, Bear of Little Brain That I Am!

  1. joylene says:

    Thanks for reminding me to check his site. I get blogged down sometimes (pun) and find it hard to keep up with them all. His blog was helpful. Yours always make me think and his leaving me feeling better equipped.

    Merci mon amie.

  2. Shari says:

    Wow, that’s great! Thanks. I’m off to read the whole article now….

Leave a Comment

